Trash to Treasure

A couple of years ago, I bought this “not too exciting” garden swing. I really wanted to have a place to sit and read and visit when the temperatures were nice.

thumb.php

It lasted about 8 months.  The high winds in our area quickly tore off the canopy so we  moved the swing under a large mulberry tree.  Within another year, the sling was faded and by the end of 3 years, the sling had rotted and all that was left was the metal frame which was loose and useless.  I still really wanted a swing, especially for my daughter who loves to read outside.

BUT, I didn’t want to go buy another swing that really didn’t appeal to me aesthetically and would certainly suffer the same fate in our harsh weather.  I didn’t want to make do. Also, any fabric I used on the swing would have to be removable so that the elements didn’t destroy it as quickly as they had the original.

Some friends of ours had recently purchased a wooden swing and while I liked the look, it wasn’t the most comfortable place to sit. I had really liked the sling back style  of my own swing.

woodenswing

Then it hit me, why didn’t I combine the two styles.  I already had a sling back frame. How hard could it be to make a wooden swing from that?

I purchased 12 1x4x10s and some metal brackets and went to work. It was quite the experience to drill into metal and fit slats across a curved frame.  I reenforced every two slats with a metal bracket through the bottom of the frame and into the wood.

Next,  I cut slats and angled the back of the swing in an Adirondack style so that the swing reclined at the angle I wished.

DSC_0004 DSC_0003

While the wooden swing now had the right angle and height and slant, it was not going to be comfortable to sit on long term, especially for my garden reader.

DSC_0002DSC_0001

A quick trip to Hobby Lobby and I had bright cushions that make for a wonderful haven out in the garden.  My daughter has claimed the space as her own.

Now…to finish up the landscaping in the backyard.  Looks like I already have a new project in mind for this spring.

 

Leave a Reply

